top of page
  • bill3766

California Labor Enforcement Agency Clarifies Sick Leave Rule

Starting January 1, 2024, California employers must provide employees with at least 40 hours or 5 days of Paid Sick Leave (PSL) per year, up from the previous requirement of 24 hours/3 days. The law maintains the accrual rate of one hour of PSL for every 30 hours worked, but now mandates that employers provide at least 24 hours of PSL by the 120th day of employment/12-month period and 40 hours by the 200th day/12-month period. Recent guidance from California’s Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) clarified that employers using the 30:1 accrual ratio for part-time employees do not have to provide the minimum hours by the specified days. This requirement is intended for employers using other accrual methods and assumes full-time employment. Click here for article.

  • New Requirement: Effective January 1, 2024, California employers must offer at least 40 hours or 5 days of PSL per year to employees.

  • Accrual Rate: The accrual rate remains at one hour of PSL for every 30 hours worked.

  • Minimum Hour Requirements: Employers must ensure that employees receive at least 24 hours of PSL by the 120th day of employment/12-month period and 40 hours by the 200th day/12-month period.

  • Clarification from DLSE: The DLSE clarified that employers using the 30:1 accrual ratio for part-time employees do not need to meet the minimum hour requirements by the specified days. This requirement is intended for employers using other accrual methods and assumes full-time employment.

  • Compliance: Employers should ensure they understand the new PSL requirements and adjust their policies accordingly to remain compliant with California law.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page